A Little Something Sweet…

Sometimes we need something sweet. I’ve been missing gingerbread a lot lately. Before my diagnosis and back when I worked at Starbucks I would literally live off the their gingerbread loaf with cream cheese icing. God it was good. I also believe it contributed to that lovely layer of chub I seemed to acquire every winter so it has been a blessing that I can no longer eat it.

I decided to make a gingerbread cake last night with apples. Apples and gingerbread, what’s not to love? Well, my baking pan did not have the same adoration and broke the cake in half when I turned it upside down to flip the cake out (I like how I blame inanimate objects for my kitchen failures). However, this did not compromise the flavour of the cake, just the presentation of it. So I took it a step further and made Individual Apple Gingerbread Trifles. This is definitely not an authentic British trifle like my grandmother makes, instead it layers apple gingerbread with maple coconut cream and cinnamon.


 

Image

Of course, you could eat just the cake too…

Apple Gingerbread Cake

Ingredients

1/2 cup coconut oil

1 Tablespoon Raw Honey

1/2 cup coconut flour

5 egg whites

1/4 cup molasses

1 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground all spice

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/2 lemon, juiced

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 cup crushed raw pecans

2 small apples, sliced

1 Tablespoon pure maple syrup

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. In a bowl, mix together the lemon juice, cinnamon, pecans, maple syrup and apples, set aside
  3. In a mixing bowl using an electric mixer, whip the egg whites until they are stiff, add in the honey and whip for another minute, slowly add in the molasses and coconut oil
  4. In a separate bowl stir together the coconut flour, baking soda, all spice, and ginger, slowly add it to the egg mixture, mix to incorporate
  5. Grease a 9-inch pan with coconut oil, arrange apple slices in a starburst pattern on the bottom of the pan, spread the pecan evenly around the apples
  6. Spread the batter on top of the apples and cook for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean
  7. Wait until the cake has cooled completely, place a plate over the top of the pan and holding the plate with your fingers and the cake pan with your thumbs flip it over onto the plate.

Apple Gingerbread Trifle

Ingredients

1 cup coconut cream

1 tablespoon pure maple syrup

2 slices Apple Gingerbread Cake

Directions

  1. Whip the coconut cream with the maple syrup until it is a whipped cream consistency
  2. In two small glasses, layer the cake and the coconut cream and top with a sprinkle of cinnamon.

Share Some Love